Young1 - 6987 grafts (FUHT + beard +chest) result 17 mths & 3yr later

Dear forum readers,
This case highlights an approach that many young patients opt for.

Question - When should I go for a hair transplant?

Correct answer 1 - when your hairloss process has stabilised or run its course.

Correct answer 2 - when you are fully aware that your hairloss process will continue and you will require further HTs to keep up with the hairloss. (you should not be having a rapid hairloss progression)

My advise to patients of all age groups, (and level of baldness), is to assume that their hairloss may progress further and they may have to go for further transplants. If you are not ready for that, you are not ready for your first hair transplant.

As a hair transplant doctor, I will not like my patients to carry on their life like an unfinished art piece.

Some famous personalities that are unfinished HTs in my opinion (they are not my patients) - US Vice President Joe Biden, Italian PM (or is it president)Berlusconi and former Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif.

Please feel free to join in the discussion with your input.

Coming to the current case.
Let me call him by the nickname Young1.
He visited us in 2006. He had gone through a phase of rapid hairloss in last 2 years but had finally managed to slow it down with use of minoxidil.

He had a family history of hairloss. Some members of family on mother’s as well as father’s side had progressed to NW 5, and 1 grandfather was a NW 6.

These are the pictures of Young1 in 2006.

I would request forum veterans to give their inputs. It would be educational for the new readers and patients alike.

Regards,
Dr. A

Now that doctors can use body hair as donor, I don’t think it is that big of a crime to have hair transplant at a young age, don’t you think?

Is there an age that is generally regarded as relatively safe for hair transplant?

» Now that doctors can use body hair as donor, I don’t think it is that big