Noob here. Trying to understand the basics of the ICX effort

Hey. I’m a noob. Been reading old posts. I’m trying to get a handle on the ICX-TRC deal and what it really means to my hair loss future.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated:

– Timeframe:
Looks like 5-10 years at the earliest? I’m not a celebrity or a billionaire, just a regular guy who is willing to fly to England & spend the price of a new SUV to get some hair back. (Risk-wise I don’t wanna be a total guinea pig. But I’d be willing to be one of the first few thousand patients to get this stuff commercially.)

– Hair characteristics:
Is the new hair “original” in every sense? To me that would mean shaft thickness, color, curl, length, etc. The new hair would grow just as fast as the original stuff. It would look & feel the same, and it would literally grow out 1-2 feet long if it wasn’t cut.

– Permanence:
I understand that the ICX’d hairs have been influenced/reprogrammed by cells from the patient’s “donor zone.” Is this a one-shot deal for each new hair? Or will the ICX’d hairs need more constant “booster” treatments every few years for the rest of the patient’s lifetime just to stay functioning & adequately MPB-resistant? (I’m aware that it may take multiple ICX treatments to get the hair I want. I’m wondering about future maintenance once that point has already been reached.)

– Growth Direction:
Has this issue been truly solved? I’ve read things about the “scaffolding” technology, is that where this fits into HM work?

Thanks for any feedback/info/clarifications.

You’ll find some disagreement about answers to your questions. Here’s my take, though…,

» – Timeframe:
I’d expect 2-7 years for ANY type of availability. That is, in 2 years you might be able to get the procedure in a few outlets in England, but later on elsewhere in Europe. The cost will likely be less than a HT and will be quite non-invasive, almost like Botox.

» – Hair characteristics: