Hair Loss Research & Shampoo

Hair loss research:
I think that if as much effort went into hair loss study as has gone into Aids, Cancer and Heart Disease research, we would have a cure, or at least a thorough understanding of the process, enabling more effective treatments.
I wonder if body hair follicles have the same DHT receptors as scalp hairs destined to miniaturize, but just react to DHT in an opposite fashion by growing thicker… or if body hairs don’t have DHT receptors but instead get growth stimulation from some other male hormone? Has research come to any conclusions on that yet?

Related to shampoo:
Young guys losing their hair are particularly susceptible to hair superstitions. When I was in my 20s, I used to paint cars for a living. I have washed my arms in acetone, lacquer thinner, enamel reducer, you name it. I have burned my hands with carburetor cleaner and Aircraft strength paint stripper. On the other hand, over the years, I have babied my scalp hair. My body hair (even the hair on my chemically saturated/burned hands) has grown thicker and my scalp hair has grown thinner. My wife has a low hairline and very thick hair. She has used shampoo all of her life. Nearly all hair loss in men is genetic. Rogaine foam and Hair Cycle products have helped my hair. For some guys, Propecia works best a limiting hair loss. If I go for a couple of days without washing my hair, my head itches and feels toxic. I would think, that if a MPB predisposed person stopped washing their hair, the DHT and toxins secreted by their oil glands would greatly accelerate their hair loss.

» I would think, that if a MPB predisposed person stopped
» washing their hair, the DHT and toxins secreted by their oil glands would
» greatly accelerate their hair loss.

“toxins secreted by their oil glands”??? WTF?

If you wanna talk about toxins read the label on a bottle of Nizoral shampoo. It’s a bottle of toxic waste.