BHT and the term "Robust" Shady... Hairtech

The thing that bothers me in this field of medicine(BHT) is the term “robust” hairs… coined by Dr. Woods, used by a few doctors as a gauge to determine good quality BHT hair that would be provide a significant growth result.

Yet there are no clinical diagnostic tools to provide a quantitative/qualitative test to give definitive results if a patient has “robust” hairs.

The “robust” diagnosis relies upon the doctor… who has significant financial interest in the “robust” attributes of ones body hairs. The more patients I (the doctor) deem as having “robust” body hairs, that translates into more cash.

What are other posters thoughts.

I probably would not trust anyone other than Dr. Woods himself telling me that I do or do not have robust hairs.

I take that back. I would trust my own judgment also in my own mind of course because I am not a doctor… And that is based on the hundreds of BHT candidates I have seen and worked on in the past and developed a “gut” perception by just looking at a guy.

See where I am getting at. It is scary.

» The thing that bothers me in this field of medicine(BHT) is the term
» “robust” hairs… coined by Dr. Woods, used by a few doctors as a gauge to
» determine good quality BHT hair that would be provide a significant growth
» result.
»
» Yet there are no clinical diagnostic tools to provide a
» quantitative/qualitative test to give definitive results if a patient has
» “robust” hairs.

Couldn’t you just measure the caliber in micrometers?

That would be a start…

Robust = ?? micrometers?

:slight_smile:

» That would be a start…
»
» Robust = ?? micrometers?

Depends on who you ask; there are several different scales that have been around for over 10 years. I would guess greater than 75-80 micrometers?

If you want to know what Dr. Woods means by “robust”, just ask him. After studying hair for so long, he is probably very capable of “eyeballing” donor hair and gauging the average caliber.