Is this much news common?

So I have only been interested in hair loss since I noticed I was balding (bout 9 months ago), so I am new to this whole scene…

But, every day I come here and there is some news relating to a discovery of some key gene or signaling protein that could have great potential etc etc. My question is, has this been an on going trend, or does it seem like there is an accelerated growth of understanding on the subject?

This is not normal right now, no.

There has been a steady slow stream of small discoveries for the last 20-25 years. Most of it has amounted to little or nothing in practical application for us.

About once every 5-10 years, we hear of another massive curing/treatment in the works. It’s always a few years away.

You gotta realize that there are basically two possible timelines for medical research:

– “At least 10 years out” means they have a vague idea of some fresh aspect of the problem to try attacking. Usually this means nothing more.

– “Probably 5 years away” means they’re far enough along to be spending money fiddling around with this vague idea, but they still have no clue about the results or whether it will have any practical commercial application.

That’s about it. They ALWAYS say they’re very optimistic and err on the side of closer than reality. That is usually necessary just to keep their investors interested. This is pretty much the standard procedure for medical research in general. It’s not unique to the hair loss world.

» So I have only been interested in hair loss since I noticed I was balding
» (bout 9 months ago), so I am new to this whole scene…
»
» But, every day I come here and there is some news relating to a discovery
» of some key gene or signaling protein that could have great potential etc
» etc. My question is, has this been an on going trend, or does it seem like
» there is an accelerated growth of understanding on the subject?