Gene silencing

http://www.genomenewsnetwork.org/articles/05_03/rnai.shtml

It can be done today :slight_smile: if anyone had the tools and guts to try it :slight_smile:

looks like it has some issues

http://www.sciencemag.org/cgi/content/summary/299/5605/320

DKK1 gene silencing is not an option unless you ask for cancer

http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=1871668

» DKK1 gene silencing is not an option unless you ask for cancer
»
» http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/articlerender.fcgi?artid=1871668

what makes the dermal papilla decide to release dkk-1 and tgf-beta is what we ought to be investigating.

science hasn’t made it that far yet though
the real question is what is the difference between beard and head hair’s response to male hormone and how can we change -that- difference, as to what has to be silenced there. It could be as simple as that

I’m not a bio scientist, but from my point of view, if DKK1 is a gene, than it’s the DNA of the follicles that contains this gene. Then together with RNA the gene is epressed into whatever protein it is.

The obvious change would be to silence the DKK1 gene. Which though will never happen, because as I found and posted above, the DKK1 silencing is native to some cancers.

DKK1 seems to be some gene that is tumor suppresing.

The only chance would be to selectively suppress this gene only in the follicles. Which I have no idea if it is feasible.

DKK1: A gene that inhibits the activity of osteoblasts, the cells that build bone. DKK1 acts by inhibiting Wnt signaling, which is essential for the growth and development of osteoblasts.

DKK1 is overexpressed in the plasma cells in multiple myeloma. The DKK1 produced by the myeloma cells tips the balance between osteoblasts and osteoclasts in favor of bone resorption. This contributes to the maintenance of the lytic (“punched-out”) lesions in bone characteristic of multiple myeloma. DKK1 stands for Dickkopf1